Thanks to the participation of renowned German companies, the GATA’s U.S. seminars are now in their sixteenth year. They are continuously adapted to keep up with current developments in the U.S. and to integrate the participants’ recommendations, which are communicated in the evaluation sheets. The U.S. seminars are the main endeavor of the German American Trade Association.

Due to distinct thematic content, we have divided the U.S. seminars two groups: the U.S. Entry Meetings (U.S. Entry) for companies that are entering into the U.S. market or are already delivering to the United States, but have not yet established a subsidiary there; and the Executive Management Meetings (EMM) for companies with existing U.S. business.

Especially since the new presidency, it is important to monitor the new developments and consequences for companies in the USA with German parent companies. We strongly recommend the US executives to attend the Executive Management Meetings to keep up to date and make adjustments to contracts if necessary.

A new addition is the LLM REFRESHER MEETING for lawyers and in-house counsel as a practical orientation and an update of what is the current standard in an international, common law-driven economy. This meeting does not explicitly require an LLM. The agenda is a reflection of the contractual risk management policies of the large international corporations, which are applied in their contractual negotiations.
Or, to put it differently, according to the LLM REFRESHER, it will be easier for you to consult in international contractual questions because you know the expectations, terminology and content.

The U.S. seminars U.S. Entry & EMM take place four times a year in Germany (in German) and once in the United States (in English), the LLM REFRESHER MEETING once in Berlin and once in Munich:

 

 

U.S. ENTRY MEETINGS EXECUTIVE MANAGEMENT MEETINGS
03. April 2019 » Registration
» Agenda
04. April 2019 Stuttgart » Registration
» Agenda
10. Juli 2019 » Registration
» Agenda
11.Juli 2019 Cologne » Registration
» Agenda
24. Oktober 2019 New York » Registration
» Agenda
05. November 2019 » Registration
» Agenda
06. November 2019 Munich » Registration
» Agenda

INTERNATIONAL BUSINESS LAW UPDATE

09. July 2019 » Registratin
» Agenda
Cologne

 

Following completion of the seminar, participants will receive accompanying materials, which allow for an internal audit and facilitate the company’s implementation of the information presented. As part of the course materials, participants will receive a so-called “Risk Management Checklist,” which quantifies the respective risks and organizes them into a point system. This list is an integral part of the Executive Management Meeting’s course documents: it assigns each subject a proportion of points based on the current case law and the statistics on liability in the United States. Based on this, any company can perform a practical internal audit, listing the relevant steps for each topic, together with recommendations for their internal implementation (Management Action Items).

Unter Beteiligung namhafter deutscher Unternehmen gehen die Management Meetings unserer Organisation bereits in ihr sechzehntes Jahr. Fortlaufend werden sie an die aktuellen Entwicklungen in den USA angepasst und die Empfehlungen der Manager aus den Bewertungsbögen integriert. USA Seminare sind eines der Hauptaktivitäten der German American Trade Association.

Aufgrund der unterschiedlichen thematischen Inhalte haben wir die USA Seminare in zwei Gruppen aufgeteilt, die sogenannten U.S. Entry Meetings (U.S. Entry) für Firmen, die einen Markteintritt in Betracht ziehen oder bereits in die USA liefern, dort jedoch noch keine Tochtergesellschaft etabliert haben und die Executive Management Meetings (EMM) für Unternehmen mit bestehendem USA Geschäft.

Insbesondere seit der neuen Präsidentschaft ist es wichtig, die neuen Entwicklungen und Konsequenzen für Unternehmen in den USA mit deutschen Muttergesellschaften zu monitoren. Wir empfehlen dringend den in den USA tätigen Managern, die Executive Management Meetings zu besuchen, um sich auf dem Laufenden zu halten und ggf. Anpassungen in Verträgen vornehmen zu können.

Neu hinzugekommen ist 2017 noch das LLM REFRESHER MEETING für Juristen als praktische Orientierungshilfe und ein Update dessen, was im internationalen, Common Law geprägtem Wirtschaftsverkehr den derzeitigen Standard darstellt. Dieses Meeting setzt auch explizit keinen LLM voraus. Die Agenda ist dabei ein Abbild der Contractual Risk Management Policies der großen internationalen Konzerne, die in ihren Vertragsverhandlungen Niederschlag finden.
Oder einmal anders gesagt: Nach dem LLM Refresher sollte es Ihnen leichter fallen, im internationalen Vertragsbereich zu beraten, weil Sie Erwartungshaltungen, Terminologie und Inhalte kennen.

Die USA Seminare U.S. Entry & EMM finden jeweils vier Mal pro Jahr in Deutschland (in deutscher Sprache) und einmal in den USA (in englischer Sprache) statt, das LLM REFRESHER MEETING einmal in Berlin und einmal in München:

 

  U.S. ENTRY MEETINGS EXECUTIVE MANAGEMENT MEETINGS
Stuttgart 01. April 2020 » Anmeldung
» Agenda
02. April 2020 » Anmeldung
» Agenda
Köln 01. Juli 2020 » Anmeldung
» Agenda
02. Juli 2020 » Anmeldung
» Agenda
Berlin 09. September 2020 » Anmeldung
» Agenda
10. September 2020 » Anmeldung
» Agenda
New York 08. Oktober 2020 » Anmeldung
» Agenda
München 21. Oktober 2020 » Anmeldung
» Agenda
22. Oktober 2020 » Anmeldung
» Agenda
Wien 18. November 2020 » Anmeldung
» Agenda
19. November 2020 » Anmeldung
» Agenda

INTERNATIONAL BUSINESS LAW UPDATE

Köln 30. Juni 2020 » Anmeldung
» Agenda

 

Die Teilnehmer erhalten als Begleitmaterial umfangreiche Unterlagen, die ein internes Audit und die entsprechende Umsetzung im Unternehmen ermöglichen . Dazu gehört unter anderem eine sogennante „Check Liste Risk Management“, welche die jeweiligen Risiken quantifiziert und vermittels eines Punktesystems abbildet. Sie basiert auf amerikanischen Statistiken und dem aktuellen Case Law in den jeweiligen Bereichen. Jedes Unternehmen kann auf diese Weise ein praxisorientiertes internes Audit durchführen, in der die für jeden Themenkreis relevanten Action Items aufgelistet sind, verbunden mit Empfehlungen zur firmeninternen Umsetzung (Management Action Items).